The support forum

Backed up files missing

mastershakes :

Oct 23, 2019

I had a concerning backup today.   I made a backup with Bvckup where a whole folder showed as backed up (bvckup log w/no errors) but upon looking at the backup destination the folder was not there.

I have a lot of moving parts for this so I'm not sure what got tripped up.  I have an external 12TB hard drive connected via USB to SATA interface.  After that connects then I auto-mount a VeraCrypt drive on the 12TB drive that is the actual destination.

I had a bunch of other files/folders that were backed up fine.   To do some more testing I redid the backup (destination snapshot is being used)...bvckup did not backup the missing folder (as expected I guess).  I then did a maintenance backup and bvckup then copied the missing folder.  I did a check and indeed this time the folder was on the VeraCrypt drive.

Weird.  Any thoughts?

Alex Pankratov :

Oct 24, 2019

If you suspect that bvckup2 removed a file, you will have that explicitly recorded in the backup log. If it's not in the log, then whatever is missing was not removed by the program, but by some other entity.

ericralph :

Nov 27, 2019

I'm having something similar happen: I've admittedly not been able to back up for years and finally got the new drives I need. Bvckup 2 appeared to have fully backed everything up (albeit with a fair number of errors) but after double-checking today, the actual backups on my backup drive equated to ~15 GB of random files and like 100,000+ folders.

The total quantity the GUI implied had been backed up was more like ~12TB, which definitely weren't present on my backup drive. Checking the logs, there do appear to be thousands of "deleting [XYX]" notifications but I have no clue why.

Alex Pankratov :

Nov 27, 2019

"Deleting" entries are logged for files that are present at destination, but not at the source. This also requires "Deleting" setting the backup to be changed from "Archive" to "Delete".

I can only guess that you pointed the backup job at an already populated location, so these "deleting" steps are for all the items that were present there from before the backup (and with no corresponding entries on the source side).

The only way to fully understand what happened is for you to read through the log. It has all the details.

New topic

Create
Made by IO Bureau in Switzerland
Support

Updates
Blog / RSS
Follow Twitter
Reddit
Miscellanea Press kit
Testimonials
Company Imprint

Legal Terms
Privacy