The support forum

Waiting for Destination Device

Genealogist48 :

Mar 22, 2020

I've been using Bvckup2 for several years with zero issues.  This morning I plugged my external hard drive into my PC as usual to do a manually initiated backup.  Bvckup2 says "Waiting for destination drive."  I unplugged the external drive, restarted the PC and got the same message.  I've made no software changes since last using Bvckup2 a couple of days ago.  Any suggestions appreciated.  Is there something I need to reset?

Froggie :

Mar 22, 2020

If you're selecting your external device by LETTER ASSIGNMENT (ie, D:\), your device may be mounting as a different drive letter.  If you're mselecting by DEVICE FINGERPRINT, the device is definitely not being seen by your System regardless of where what letter Windows is mounting the device on.

Possibly the device (dock?) is having issues...?

Genealogist48 :

Mar 22, 2020

I can add more info to help figure out the problem.  I have two USB ports on my PC.  Until this morning, I always plugged the external drive into the same port.  This morning, I inadvertently plugged the drive into the port not used up to now; that's when I got the message about "Waiting for Destination Device."  I then removed the external drive and plugged it into the "usual" USB port; same error message about waiting for the destination drive.

I then took a second external drive, also used frequently and successfully with Bckup2.  I plugged this into the "usual" USB port and Bckup2 recognized it immediately and I backed up my files with no problem.

So my problem is confined to the first external drive, the one I inadvertently plugged into a different port this morning.  Suggestions?

Genealogist48 :

Mar 22, 2020

Froggie:  Definitely not an issue with the USB port or cable.  Can you explain a bit more about your thought and what I should do?  Thanks.

Froggie :

Mar 22, 2020