The support forum

Source time stamps always wrong so backup just repeats over and over

westfielder :

Oct 02, 2014

I used to be a software engineer and I LOVE this software - simplicity, presentation, robustness and am trying before buying.
I have backed up about 70GB of documents to a NAS (using BVCKUP for the initial backup).
The schedule is set to real time. But each time the backup finishes it restarts again in full - all 14000 files and takes 6 hours.
I investigated lots of files and for every entry in the log the
source timestamp says :
Created 2014/03/29 and a time of day, modified: 'whenever the file was originally modified'
Destination timestamp says :
Created 'whenever the file was originally modified'
and a time of day, modified: 'whenever the file was originally modified'
So the source time stamps don't match.
for each file the source time stamp time changes by about 300ms

Any idea what's wrong or if I can fix it - I would love to use this beautiful software as my backup solution and buy it for other PCs too.

Thanks in advance

Nick

Alex Pankratov :

Oct 02, 2014

This basically means that your NAS doesn't support "created" timestamps and Bvckup should've detected that as it has code to do just that. But in your case it didn't, which is weird ... or it did and there's something else funny going on.

So, first things first - please email me %LocalAppData%\Bvckup2\bvckup2-fsi.log file, I'd like to understand if the detection indeed failed.

Second - you will need to put a manual override to tell Bvckup not to look at the "created" timestamps when deciding if the file is modified or not. To do this -

1. Stop the backup if it's running.
2. Right-click on it, Open Folder -> Configuration & Logging
3. Open settings.ini in Notepad
4. Exit Bvckup
5. Go back to settings.ini, find line that starts with "conf.ctime_match" and change it from 2 to 1
6. Save the .ini, exit Notepad
7. Start Bvckup, run the backup and it should get processed as expected